academy logo font on black-1


Blue Post Cottages, 37 Condor Gate, Little Waltham, Chelmsford, Essex. CM3 3PY

T: 01245-675383     E: [email protected]

On-line Application

LAMDA Exams and the UCAS Tariff



The Level 3 LAMDA Exams (Grades 6, 7, and 8 – the Bronze, Silver and Gold Medal Exams) are further recognised within the UCAS Tariff. The UCAS Tariff is the system for allocating points to qualifications used for entry to higher education. It allows students to use a range of different qualifications to help secure a place on an undergraduate course.

Universities and colleges use the UCAS Tariff to make comparisons between applicants with different qualifications. Tariff points are often used in entry requirements (although other factors are taken into account).

Here is how LAMDA Medal Exams look within the context of the UCAS tariff:


                 LAMDA Grades                          UCAS Tariff                   Equivalent         

Grade 8         Grade 7             Grade 6     |       Points           |    A Level           AS Level

                                                                       32                   C

Distinction                                                       30                

Merit                                                                27                

Pass                                                                 24                   D

                                                                       20                                          A

                   Distinction                                  16                    E                     B

                   Merit                                           14

                   Pass                    Distinction       12                                           C

                                              Merit                10                                           D

                                              Pass                  8

                                                                       6                                            E



For information about LAMDA Exams, see